My Top Ten Of Favourite Movies Growing Up


Hello, I’ve been a fan of movies ever since I was a kid. I loved going to the cinema as a child and I still do now. It’s a good way to escape the world and visit different parts of the world, whether it’s somewhere in our world or a make believe place. The movies I grew up watching as a child in the 80’s and 90’s were great. There’s so many classics ranging from si-fi to action, adventure, comedy and horror. It’s hard to pick a top ten but these are mine.

1. Star Wars

2. Jaws

3. Raiders Of The Lost Ark

4. Back To The Future

5. Ghostbusters 

6. The Goonies

7. Jurassic Park

8. The Karate Kid

9. The Lost Boys

10. The Monster Squad

Star Wars: Star Wars is one of my all time favourite movies that I’ve loved from seeing it as a young child. I became a fan straight away and watched all the movies and had all the toys. When episode 7 came out, I was like a kid again going to see it I was so excited even more than my son and seeing it with him and watching him feel the same way about it as me was awesome. I’ll always be a fan even though the prequels were pretty bad. 

Jaws: Jaws is a classic movie for me, I first saw it at a young age and remember seeing the great white shark fin in the water and that famous music playing and becoming obsessed with sharks from that moment on, especially great whites. There is so many iconic moments in the movie from the one I just described to the famous “We’re going to need a bigger boat.” The moment of the first shark attack which you don’t even see the shark building suspense to when you do. To the moment of Quint gets eaten alive are all great parts of a classic movie. It was the start of the big summer blockbusters and launched Stephen Spielberg’s career.  

The top two are my favourites for the reasons above and the rest I could go on about for ages but I’ll cut it short a bit here. The Karate Kid is one of my favourites because I’m also a big fan of martial arts and was am a big fan of Bruce Lee. The Lost Boys was the first horror movie I ever watched and I loved it instantly. It got me into horror movies and vampires. The other movies are all classics and I’m sure there in most people top ten and there’s other films I watched growing up I love too, but these all stand the test of time for me and can still watch to this day. 

Thanks for reading. Read my thoughts on Spider-Man Homecoming tomorrow. 

My Top Ten Of Favourite Movies Growing Up

Leave a Reply

